Philip Seymour Hoffman Completes Guest List!

The Chlotrudis Society for Independent Film is thrilled to announce that acclaimed actor Philip Seymour Hoffman will be in attendance at the 10th Annual Chlotrudis Awards Ceremony, Sunday, March 28, 5:00 p.m. at the Brattle Theatre. Phil will be the first inductee into the newly created Chlotrudis Hall of Fame.

Already an experienced actor of six years in the movies when Chlotrudis first noticed him in the unforgettable Paul Thomas Anderson film Boogie Nights, it was 1998 that was Phil's first big year for this organization. Phil received a double-nomination in the Best Supporting Actor category for his roles in Todd Solondz' Happiness, and Brad Anderson's Next Stop Wonderland. That same year, Phil was awarded the first Gertrudis Award, given to an actor who in a short time and relatively small number of performances has burned an indelible mark on our film consciousness. Who knew how right we were in giving Phil this award?

The following year at the Sixth Annual Chlotrudis Awards, Phil won the Chltorudis Award for Best Supporting Actor for his work in Paul Thomas Anderson's Best Movie winner, Magnolia. Since then, Phil has impressed indie film buffs and megaplex audiences alike with stellar work in such films as Flawless, State and Main, Almost Famous, Punch-Drunk Love, 25th Hour and Cold Mountain.

2003 was a big year for Phil at the movies. He starred in the powerfully original film Love Liza, written by his brother Gordy (who is nominated for the Best Original Screenplay Award this year). While Chlotrudis members embraced Love Liza and found Phil's performance intensely gripping, it was his low-key work in Owning Mahowny that brought Phil's third Chlotrudis Award nomination, his first in the Best Actor Category.

Phil works tirelessly in such a wide variety of films, who would have guessed that he is also a critically acclaimed stage actor and theatre director? Some of Phil's stage roles include Tony Award nominated performances in Long Day's Journey Into Night and True West. Phil has directed three plays, Jesus Hopped the A Train, The Glory of Living, and Our Lady of 121st Street.

We are all fortunate that Phil seems to enjoy working so much. He is building a career of lasting relevance and inspiration. It has been the Chlotrudis Society's pleasure to grow as an organization concurrently with Phil's amazing career, and we are pleased to honor him with the premiere spot in our brand new Hall of Fame.

Phil joins Agn´┐ŻGodard, Kerry Washington, Daniel MacIvor, Thom Fitzgerald, Wiebke von Carolsfeld, and Larry Meistrich as this year's honored guests. Tickets for the 10th Annual Chlotrudis Awards Ceremony are available at the Brattle Theatre Box Office, 40 Brattle Street, Cambridge, MA, and through their website. Tickets are $20 for non-members, $15 for Chlotrudis members and students. The ceremony begins promptly at 5:00 p.m.